IT Connect
Information technology tools and resources at the UW

Re-enable my NETID AD account

Accounts in the NETID Active Directory that are considered inactive will be disabled. Accounts that have been disabled for a year will be deleted. These states pertain only to the NETID Active Directory which is used by Windows computers and Office 365 and other Microsoft application programs. Other uses of your NetID account are not affected by these changes.

Restoring a disabled/deleted account

To re-enable a disabled or deleted NETID AD account go to the UW NetID Manage page and change the password. See the About UW NetIDs page for more information on changing passwords and for information on resetting a forgotten password.

More information

For more details about how your NETID account may be affected, see here. (link to new page with the below info and perhaps more)

User accounts in the NETID Active Directory are sourced from the central UW NetID system. Changes made in the NETID AD system have no effect on the master copy of the account in the UW NetID system. The NETID AD account is created and/or updated when a password is changed in the UW NetID system. This is why you can restore a NETID AD account by changing the password.

Accounts in Azure AD and Office 365 are sourced from the NETID AD. Changes to NETID AD accounts are synchronized to Azure AD. This means that the disablement and deletion of NETID AD accounts will flow to Azure AD. Having an Office 365 license is one of the criteria for considering an account as active. This means that the NETID AD inactive account process will never delete Azure AD accounts with current Office 365 licenses.

The first phase of the NETID AD inactive account process is to disable accounts that have not met the activity criteria for a year. AD accounts in a disabled state retain their properties including the Security Identifier (SID). When an account is deleted, its SID goes away. A new SID is generated if a deleted account is recreated by setting a password. If such a user had been granted access to a Windows resource directly, rather than as a member of a group, then that access would be lost if the AD account is deleted and recreated. This is one of the many reasons why it is better to grant access using groups.