Skip to main content
IT Connect

Information technology tools and resources at the UW

Panopto Data Retention Policy

Examples of items that can be created and/or stored. Creators: recordings, recording schedules, folder settings, bookmarks, notes, discussions

Viewers: bookmarks, notes, discussions

What happens if an item is manually deleted? Manually deleted items are removed from Panopto servers.
Does anything ever get automatically deleted?
  • If a Panopto video is associated with a deleted Canvas course it will be flagged for deletion and deleted within six months of this point per data deletion workflows. See Canvas Data Retention Policy <need to add link> for more information.
  • If a recording is owned by a user or users who are no longer authorized to use Panopto it will be flagged for deletion and deleted within six months of this point per data deletion workflows.
If a user is no longer authorized to use Panopto what happens to their profile data and items they’ve created? If a user is no longer authorized to use Panopto:

  • All of their profile data will be deleted.
  • Videos they own will be flagged for deletion and will be deleted within six months of this point per data deletion workflows UNLESS the videos are jointly owned by other authorized Panopto users.