Skip to main content
IT Connect

Information technology tools and resources at the UW

Canvas Data Retention Policy

Examples of items that can be created and/or stored. Author (Teachers & Course Designers)

Course content (files, html, video, quizzes), student grades,  communications with students, profile informationParticipant (Students or Guests)

Quiz responses, discussion posts, uploaded files, profile information (e.g. avatars, email addresses)

What happens if an item is manually deleted by a user? When an item is manually deleted it will no longer be visible to any user but will remain on Canvas servers until automatic deletion rules apply.
Does anything ever get automatically deleted?
  • A course and all of its content and associated data will be flagged for deletion five years after the end of the academic year (June of each year). These flagged  items will be deleted within six months of this point per UW Canvas data deletion processes.
  • Data items that Participants have contributed to a course, such as discussion posts and uploaded files, will be deleted when a course is deleted.
What happens to a user’s data after they have left the university?
  • Any courses that have not been manually deleted by an author will remain until automatic deletion rules apply.
  • Items that participants have contributed to a course, such as discussion posts and uploaded files, will be deleted when a course is deleted.
  • A user’s profile data will be deleted after the following conditions are met:
    • User is no longer associated with any courses
    • User is no longer an active faculty, student, or staff
    • User has been separated from the university for a year or more