IT Connect
Information technology tools and resources at the UW

Lock down your UW Zoom meeting space

Recent changes to Zoom default settings

UW-IT has turned off three Zoom features enabled by default that have been the access points for violation of classroom settings: Annotation, Whiteboard, and Chat.

The Annotation feature allows participants to use annotation tools to add information to shared screens.

The Whiteboard feature allows participants to share the whiteboard during a meeting.

Chat allows participants to send chat messages to other users within a meeting. Participants can send a private message to an individual user or to an entire group.

If these features support your pedagogical objectives, you can easily turn them back on. If you do enable chat, we strongly recommend that you leave private chat between participants disabled.

Turn Annotation, Whiteboard and/or Chat back on

The steps to turn on Annotation, Whiteboard or Chat are nearly identical.

  1. Sign in to the UW Zoom web portal at washington.zoom.us.
  2. In the left sidebar, click Settings, and then click In Meeting (Basic).
  3. Scroll down to find the setting you want to turn on (or press CTRL+F / Command+F and search for “Chat,” “Annotation,” or “Whiteboard”). 
  4. Toggle on the chosen setting(s).

These changes apply to all future meetings. 

Further protect your use of Zoom

Require participants to sign into UW Zoom meetings

As of 4/6/2020, instructors can turn on the authentication option when scheduling a class session using the Zoom app in Canvas. Turning on this option requires students to sign in with their UW NetID and password in order to join meetings. 

Meeting options: Only authenticated users can join option selected and highlighted

Due to misuse of Zoom by meeting participants, UW-IT strongly recommends that instructors require students to sign in with their UW NetID and password prior to joining meetings. This will prevent unauthorized users from gaining access to class sessions held in Zoom. 

Why? By asking students to authenticate themselves you require them to prove that they are who they say they are. Students can authenticate themselves for a Zoom session by providing their UW NetID and password to sign in.

You will need to confirm that authentication is turned on for meetings you have already scheduled as well as for future meetings. 

Verify that authentication is turned on for meetings you have already scheduled

  1. Sign in to the UW Zoom web portal at washington.zoom.us.
  2. In the left sidebar, click Meetings
  3. Open each meeting and review its settings. 
    • If you see a green check mark next to Only authenticated users can join, you are all set and need do nothing more.
    • If you see an X next to Only authenticated users can join, scroll down and click Edit this Meeting and go to step 4.
    • If this is a recurring meeting, in the dialog box, click All to turn on this setting for all scheduled instances of the meeting. 
  4. Select the Only authenticated users can join checkbox, and then scroll down and click Save
  5. As needed, repeat step 3 for all meetings you have scheduled to ensure that every meeting requires your students to sign in with UW NetID and password.

For future meetings, you simply need to turn on the authentication setting at the time that you are scheduling the meeting. If you make the meeting recurring, this setting will persist for each instance of the meeting. 

For UW Zoom meeting hosts who are not using the Zoom app in Canvas, turn on authentication by following these steps:

  1. Sign in to the UW Zoom web portal at washington.zoom.us.
  2. Click Schedule a Meeting
  3. Under Meeting Options, select Only authenticated users can join meetings.

Turn on Waiting room

When Waiting room is turned on, attendees cannot join a meeting until a host admits them individually from the waiting room. If Waiting room is enabled, the option for attendees to join the meeting before the host arrives is automatically disabled.

  1. Sign in to the UW Zoom web portal at washington.zoom.us.
  2. In the left sidebar, click Settings and then click In Meeting (Advanced).
  3. Scroll down to find (or press CTRL+F / Command+F and search for “Waiting”) Waiting room and Make sure that the setting is on.
Last reviewed April 2, 2020