IT Connect
Information technology tools and resources at the UW

UW Google Drive and File Ownership

On This Page

UW Google Drive, a part of UW G Suite, is a powerful tool for storing and sharing files, and collaborating on work. However, the frequent sharing of UW Google Drive files can also create confusion over file ownership. This page offers some tips for avoiding file loss in this modern file sharing environment.

Please note: If you are UW Medicine workforce member or clinical student, please be aware that UW G Suite, including UW Google Drive, is not HIPAA compatible and should not be used for PHI.  For more information on this policy, please contact comply@uw.edu.

Records Management: What Files Should You Keep?

When saving and storing files, it is important to keep in mind that the UW must maintain compliance with state and federal laws and regulations relating to the preservation and destruction of information created and received by the UW.

It is the general policy of the UW to:

  • Create only the records it needs
  • Retain records according to legally approved records retention schedules
  • Maintain active and inactive records in appropriate storage equipment and locations
  • Discard records when no longer required
  • Preserve records of historical significance
  • Identify and protect vital records

If you have specific questions about Records Management at UW, please contact Records Management Services.

If you have specific questions about Records Management at UW Medicine, please contact UW Medicine Records Management Services (RMS).

File Ownership: Yours or Shared with You?

Not all files you see in your UW Google Drive are owned by you.  Many will be shared with you, and appear to be your files, but are actually owned by another individual at the UW.  That’s fine for collaboration, but when an owner of a file is no longer a student or employee of the UW, their files will be deleted 20 days after their departure date from the UW.

If you depend on those files, it’s important to preserve them before your collaborator departs the UW.  To do so, follow the process below.

Please note: This process should be followed for each individual who has already departed the UW and as a regular offboarding task when an individual is preparing to depart the UW.

Finding Shared Files

To find files you do not own in your UW Google Drive, click on Shared with me in the left column of UW Google Drive.  Every file you see in this list is a file that is owned by someone else.  As a result, every file listed can disappear without warning when the owner departs the UW.

Finding Files Owned by a Specific Person

Using Google Drive’s search box at the top of the screen, you can find files owned by a specific person.  This can be useful if you know an individual is leaving the UW soon but owns files you depend on.  To find all files owned by a specific person:

  1. Click on the down arrow on the right side of the Google Drive search box
  2. In the search options screen that pops up, click on the down arrow next to Owner and choose Specific person…
  3. In the box that appears next to Specific person…, enter in the email address of the owner you’d like to search for, e.g. UWNetID@uw.edu

This will show you every file that is shared with you but owned by the individual you specified.

How to Keep Shared Files

UW Google Drive offers several different methods for preserving files shared with you.

Copy or download a file

  • You can right-click on a file shared with you and choose Make a copy to create a copy that you own that will be stored in your personal UW Google Drive.
  • You can right-click on a file shared with you and choose Download to download a copy of the file to your device.
  • You can select multiple files at a time by selecting a file, holding down Shift, then using your mouse to select a number of consecutive files.
  • You can also select a file then hold down Ctrl and select specific files out of a list files.
  • You can also select a file and hit Ctrl + A to select all the files on the list.

Please note: The sharing settings and version history of copied files do not transfer.

Download a folder

  • You cannot right-click on a folder shared with you and choose Make a copy; instead, you’ll have to open the folder and select the files to copy or download.
  • You can, however, right-click on a folder shared with you and choose Download to download a copy of the folder to your device.

Use UW Google Team Drive

What is UW Google Team Drive?

Google Team Drive is basically a Google Drive that is not owned by an individual Google account.  A UW Google Team Drive can be used by collaborative groups as a central file storage and management platform to help prevent data loss when collaborating on files.  Files stored in a Team Drive are not owned by an individual but are instead “owned” by the Team Drive and the people assigned to the Team Drive.  Moving files to a Team Drive will ensure they are not deleted when the original owner of those files leaves the UW.  If you work on a collaborative team, consider creating a Team Drive to store your team’s data.

Create a UW Google Team Drive

UW Google Team Drive creation is self-service.  In other words, you can create a Team Drive yourself using Google’s excellent guide on creating and managing a Team Drive.  Google Drive Help also includes a detailed guide on how to work with a Team Drive.  For a comprehensive guide written for a more technical audience, check out G Suite Administrator Help’s article on how to manage a Team Drive.

Deletion of UW Google Team Drives

A UW Google Team Drive and all data contained within the Team Drive will be deleted when the last UW member is removed from the Team Drive, or the last UW member separates from the UW.