Information technology tools and resources at the UW
Being Silenced or Banned
To be silenced on a discussion board means that you can no longer post messages but can still access the board to view discussions. When a silenced participant logs in to access the board, a message will indicate who silenced her or him and when. Only discussion board administrators and moderators can silence participants.
To be banned from a discussion board means that you can no longer access the board to view discussions or post messages. Banned participants’ profiles are removed and their names no longer appear on the participant list.
Banned participants will receive an email notifying them that they have been banned and indicating who banned them and when. If a banned participant logs in to access the board, she or he will be redirected to a screen telling them that they have been banned. Only discussion board administrators can ban participants.