Skip to main content
IT Connect

Information technology tools and resources at the UW

See your course as students see it

You can see your course as students see it any time — while you are developing your course, when you are ready to publish, or any time during the quarter. When you switch to Student View, Canvas creates a test student account. As the Test Student, you can see the course as a student, and experiment with submitting Assignments and posting to Discussions.

Follow these steps to see your course in Student View:

  1. StepsActions
  2. In the left-hand menu, click Settings.
  3. In the right-hand sidebar, click Student View.

You’ll know that you are in student view because two aspects of the interface have changed. In the upper-right corner where your name usually appears, you will now see Test Student. Also, along the bottom of the page is a bar. On the left side is a message that says: “You are currently logged in to Student View.”

On the right side of the bar are two buttons: Reset Student and Leave Student View. When you click Reset Student, you clear the history of any activities you have performed as that test student, and you create a brand new test student account. When you are ready to switch back to the regular view, click Leave Student View.

Note: There is a separate Test Student account for each course in Canvas.
Whenever you move to a new course you will need to activate the Test Student for that course.